Fruit of the Drunken Tree

Inspired by the author’s own life, and told through the alternating perspectives of the willful Chula and the achingly hopeful Petrona, Fruit of the Drunken Tree contrasts two very different, but inextricable coming-of-age stories. In lush prose, Rojas Contreras sheds light on the impossible choices women are often forced to make in the face of violence and the unexpected connections that can blossom out of desperation.

I am probably going to have a very unpopular opinion on this novel. I had a hard time getting into this book. I can usually finish a novel in 2 to 3 days tops and this one took me all month. I kept having to put it down and read something else.

I really didn’t connect with the characters. And there were times I just got lost. I didn’t understand what was going on.

It is really hard to say I don’t like this book because some of these things actually happened to the author. Because she went through some of the terrors or knows multiple people that did I thought there would be more emotion.

Like I mentioned earlier I have a very unpopular opinion so you may like this book. I originally picked this book up to participate in the Doubleday Book Club and Read Across Instagram.

Leave a comment